How to Add Users in Google Analytics

Since Google Analytics is constantly changing and evolving, it can be challenging to locate certain sections in the settings. While adding new users is no difficult task, it’s certainly no easy one either; especially when you’re struggling to find out where to do it!

Here’s how to add a user in the desktop version of Google Analytics.

Go to settings

When you log into your Google Analytics account, you’ll be taken to your Dashboard, by default. Click on the gears in the lower lefthand corner:

Choose the level of access

From here, you can choose to add users at the Account level, Property level, or View level. Depending on the user and the website(s) you want to give access, make sure you choose wisely here!

Add user(s)

Once you’ve chosen the level of access you’re giving the user, click the “+” sign at the top right of your screen. Now you’re able to add users or user groups.

  • Users: add a single user with an email address
  • User groups: add a user group (must have your account linked to Google Marketing Platform Organization)

More often than not, you’ll be adding a single users to your account, so we’re going to continue as if you’re adding users.

Get clear on reaching your target audience online

Are you a rockstar entrepreneur, but totally lost when it comes to marketing your business? Learn 10 simple tips for marketing your business online (for FREE!).

Email addresses

Enter one or as many email addresses as you need to provide access for. These email addresses must be Google emails; which means they don’t have to be Gmail addresses, but must be connected with a Google account. You can select/deselect that users are notified by an email.

Permissions

Allow permissions for the user, including (listed by order increasing permissions):

  • Read & Analyze (default permissions): can view report and configuration data
  • Collaborate: can create and edit shared assets, like dashboards or annotations
  • Edit: can create and edit properties, views, filters, goals, etc. Cannot manage users

    Note that choosing “Edit” allows users to Read & Analyze, Collaborate, and Edit.
  • Manage Users: can add users, delete users, and change user permissions

Which Google Analytics user permissions are right for you?

The answer is completely dependent on who you are adding to your Google Analytics account.

For employees who just need to read reports and don’t need additional access, Read & Analyze is the best option.

For contractors, they ay need more access and likely need at least the Read & Analyze and Collaborate permissions.

In most instances, only one person should retain the Manage Users permission to maintain management control.

Want to get more amazing digital marketing tips?